Water Monitoring

Aquatic Invasive Species

Education & Outreach

Cost-Share Program

Watershed Champion Award


The Board of the Comfort Lake-Forest Lake Watershed District is pleased to announce that the new Watershed Champion Award program will be accepting nominations for 2020. The purpose of the Watershed Champion Award is to acknowledge and honor those whose contributions to water stewardship have helped the CLFLWD achieve its mission of protecting and improving local water resources. The award will be presented annually by the CLFLWD to an individual, business, organization or community for having demonstrated exceptional stewardship of water resources within the boundaries of the CLFLWD.




2022 Program Details (PDF)



To nominate an individual, business, organization or community for the Award please complete the following steps:

  1. Download the nomination form
  2. Fill out all requested information on the nomination form
  3. Submit completed nomination form via e-mail, drop off, or postal mail to 44 Lake St. South, Suite A, Forest Lake, MN 55025
  4. All nominations must be received by the deadline of August 14, 2022 to be considered


Award Criteria

Contribution to be recognized must


Examples of contributions include, but are not limited to: raised public awareness of a specific issue (such as responsible road salt use, groundwater conservation, invasive species, etc.), creation of water resource-friendly public policy, protection of a resource via land trust or wetland restoration, voluntary completion of a rain garden or shoreline restoration project, or economic development that is consistent with good water resource stewardship.


*Contributions implemented prior to January 1st, 2018 will be considered for the award on the condition that sufficient supporting documentation is provided.


Nomination Scoring & Award Selection

All nominations received by the deadline of August 14, 2022 will be scored for consideration by the Selection Committee. Nominations will be scored on a 5-point scale for each of the following criteria: Promotion of stewardship OR demonstration of observable or measurable results, and overall impact.


A five person committee consisting of one board member, one staff member, and three Citizen Advisory Committee members will review nominations and select the award recipients. Committee members will score each nomination as described above and aggregate scores will be used to help inform the Committee's decision. One award will be given per category. An award does not have to be given in each category if no nominee meets the criteria. An award may be given to a previous winner if subsequent contributions justify doing so.


Awards will be presented at the District's annual State of the Watershed public meeting, and will be displayed permanently and prominently at the District office with the recipient's name listed.


Read about the 2019 Watershed Champion Award Winners!