District Waterbodies

Forest Lake

Comfort Lake

Little Comfort Lake

Bone Lake

Moody Lake

Birch Lake

School Lake

Lake Keewahtin

Shields Lake


District Waterbodies

Click on any of the outlined waterbodies below to see more information.



Click here to explore the interactive webmap with additional layers.

Click here to view a PDF map of subwatersheds within the CLFLWD.

The Comfort Lake - Forest Lake Watershed District (CLFLWD) encompasses roughly 47 square miles in northern Washington County and southern Chisago County, including the Cities of Chisago City, Forest Lake, Scandia, and Wyoming. The watershed outlets to the northwest to the Sunrise River, which flows northeast through Chisago County before discharging to the St. Croix River.

The CLFLWD is unique because the south portion of the watershed lies within Washington County and the seven-county metropolitan area. The northern portion extends into Chisago County beyond the metropolitan area boundary and is the only watershed district in the state which transects both metropolitan and outstate counties. Roughly 60 percent of the watershed lies in Washington County and 40 percent lies in Chisago County.



Moody Lake Story Map

Learn more about Moody Lake and explore the watershed! The story map is an interactive platform that walks you through some of the current issues facing moody lake, how the watershed has changed over time, what's being done, and what you can do to help!